Press "Enter" to skip to content

SAFE CU CEO Dave Roughton awarded with California CUL Advocate of the Year Award

SAFE Credit Union Board Chairman Terrance Tremelling and President and CEO Dave Roughton at 2019 REACH awards.

SAFE Credit Union President and CEO Dave Roughton received the California Advocate of the Year Award for 2019 from the California and Nevada Credit Union Leagues at an awards ceremony in Monterey, California, this week.

“I am very pleased to receive this honor,” Roughton said. “It’s essential that credit union leaders make advocacy a focus of what they do. Providing our members with exceptional service includes ensuring that we actively work to reduce unnecessary and expensive regulations while promoting policies that benefit the cooperative credit union mission.”

In announcing the award, Heather deNecochea, manager of political advocacy manager at the California and Nevada Credit Union League, said: “Dave Roughton has been instrumental in nurturing local relationships with elected officials in the Greater Sacramento area. He has made community and engagement a top priority and has yielded a positive and open brand for the credit union movement. Dave has hosted multiple fundraisers at his credit union and routinely makes donations to our PAC and candidates. Dave prioritizes advocacy events by always ensuring SAFE Credit Union’s representation is at all levels. We appreciate his dedication and commitment to our advocacy efforts.”

As a credit union industry leader, Roughton advocates for policies that benefit SAFE’s 235,000 members by working directly with local and state elected officials. He leads delegations to Washington, D.C, for the annual Credit Union National Association Governmental Affairs Conference at which credit union executives connect directly with members of Congress. He also champions the credit union cooperative movement with state lawmakers during the annual California Government Relations Rally. 

Roughton serves on the California Credit Union League Board of Directors and is a member of the Regulatory Advocacy Committee. In the past he has served on the California Credit Union League Legislative Advocacy Committee; the CO-OP Financial Services Board of Directors; and as chair of the MBL, LLC Board of Directors. 

This content is for CU BUSINESS eMagazine , THE TEAM BUILDER (GROUP SUBSCRIPTION), and Special Deal: 2 websites members only.
Log In Register

Comments are closed.